Background of AMA

Background of AMA

Historically the Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA) began as a Town Council and was first established by the Town Council Ordinance of 1894, after the introduction of Native Authorities by the colonial government in 1878.

The native authorities were local government units made up of non-elected paramount chiefs, sub-chiefs and elders. The traditional rulers served as central figures in local government and were only given powers to pass bye-laws. Though this local administration produced close relationship between the chiefs and the British authorities, it failed to meet the needs and aspiration of the people.

Accra was declared a city on the 28th June 1961 and became Accra City Council. The Accra City Council was dissolved to become Accra Tema City Council in August 1964.

The Accra Metropolitan Assembly was established by PNDC Law 207 which has been replaced by an enabling Local Government Act 1993 (Act 462).

The Accra Metropolitan Assembly is one of the ten (10) District Assemblies that make the Greater Accra Region and one of the One Hundred and seventy (170) Districts within the Country.

Accra is the Metropolitan, Regional and National Capital and this role places Accra in a very unique position in Ghana.
Geographically, the Accra Metropolis covers an area of 173 sq km. The Southern boundary of AMA is the Gulf of Guinea stretching from Gbegbeyese to La. It shares boundary with the Ledzokuku-Krowor Assembly on the East.
On the Northern and Western frontiers there are Ga East, Ga West, and the Ga South District.

New Districts had been created out of our Metropolis and within the Greater Accra Region. With the creation of these new districts, the exact boundary demarcations with some of these new districts are becoming increasingly problematic generating disputes between us and those on the peripheral.

The Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development which is the mother Ministry of all Assemblies in the Country is currently handling this problem with the view to resolving it once and for all.

Structurally, the AMA is made up of the General Assembly at the apex, followed by Eleven (11) Sub-Metropolitan District Councils which are subordinate bodies of the Assembly performing functions assigned to them by the instrument that sets up the Assembly or delegated to them by the Assembly. read more...


Make sure you don't miss interesting stories by joining our newsletter program.

Contact us

National Project Co-ordinator Land Administration Project (LAP) Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources 
P. O. Box MB 212 
Accra, Ghana

  • Tel: 233 – 0303 – 969687

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.